News: Fresh BS, U.S. Politics

Sometimes the winner is the one who can take the most pain

Give me that!  Try to take it!

Give me that!
Try to take it!

I grew up rough and tumble  on a farm with four brothers and a dozen boy cousins. I was “the only little petunia in the onion patch,” as grandma used to say. We fought; we fought mightily at times and I held my own, thank you very much.

As we got older, the boys-alas!- became stronger than I, but I never went down in defeat for the simple reason that I could take more pain than they could. Someone suggested that I was abused, but I thought she was nuts. Not for one moment did I feel victimized, not once did I give up. My attitude was, “Come at me, big shot, because you are going to limp away from this encounter.” This attitude, as you can imagine, is actually a pretty good deterrent.

The USA has yet to learn that it cannot defeat a determined people with brute force. But I hope the USA figures it out soon.

I was researching the Vietnam war and found that Ho Chi Minh knew his only strength was that the people were willing to take more pain than the USA in order to be free of colonialism. Fighting against the mightiest military the world had ever seen, enduring 643,000 tons of bombs and 83 million liters of agent orange-they won simply by taking more pain.

In the recent Israeli attack on Gaza, the Palestinians endured over 3000 tons of bombs dropped on a densely populated area in the first 15 days of the attack and suffered over 2,000 dead, mostly civilians-and they did not give up. I hate such events, I want them never to happen again, but about day 12 I quietly realized-the Palestinians have won.

In both conflicts, the civilian casualties were enormous. In both conflicts, the attackers accused the attackees of using “human shields.” The terrible civilian deaths were not the fault of the bomb-droppers, according to this theory, but of the bomb-receivers. This, of course, is BS.

I repeat: The USA has yet to learn that it cannot defeat a determined people with brute force. But I hope the USA figures it out soon.

"Human Shields" Vietnam

“Human Shields” Vietnam

 

About Je' Czaja

Je' is a writer, artist, and stand up philosopher. She founded and directed two non-profit organizations for disadvantaged children and their families, served as a missionary for three years and is the author of several books. https://www.smashwords.com/interview/jeczaja Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00IU4RWKE

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

