history, Human Nature

The Man Who Refused to “Heil Hitler”

Uh...NO

Uh…NO

I don’t know how much courage it takes to refuse to “Heil Hitler” when 100,000 people around you are doing so, but I think it takes a lot more than I have. I did once refuse to worship America at a Christian leadership conference, on the grounds that I thought we worshiped Jesus?

All I got was dirty looks; the man who refused to “Heil Hitler” ended up in a concentration camp.

His name was  August Landmesser and he had joined the Nazi Party in hopes of getting a job. He also made the fatal mistake, for that time and place, of falling in love with a Jewish woman. This did not end well.

He was just a regular person; a person like you or I. He just wanted to get a job, get married and have a family. But then he wasn’t just a regular person; because when a huge crowd is excited and chanting, the easy thing to do is to just join in. But he didn’t. (Click image to enlarge)

I don’t know where you find that kind of courage, but I think we need a whole lot more of it. I mean, consider this: What if everyone refused to Heil Hitler?

 

 

About Je' Czaja

Je' is a writer, artist, and stand up philosopher. She founded and directed two non-profit organizations for disadvantaged children and their families, served as a missionary for three years and is the author of several books. https://www.smashwords.com/interview/jeczaja Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00IU4RWKE

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

