Human Nature, Public opinion, U.S. Politics

White Girl, Black Protesters and the Red, White and Blue

confederateusflagsYesterday my daughter asked if I wanted to go the protest at the local college and I thought I did. Today I do not.

As John Maynard Keynes said, ““When my information changes, I alter my conclusions. What do you do, sir?” As it turns out the black demonstrators were being racist themselves, so no, I do not want to support them. I like what MLK said, “content of character, not color of skin” and racism is a serious character flaw. Of course, they’re just scared kids, so my motherly thing kicks in. I want to give them some brownies and talk some sense into them.

But they have gone into hiding, because white racists have come out of the woodwork en masse and are having a flag-waving rally Friday. They are insisting on their second amendment right to bring guns as well. That would be a good protest to stay away from.

My oldest daughter, who is a genius and has worked as a volunteer with disadvantaged kids for fourteen years, hates racism, too. She was trying to answer the Facebook racists as diplomatically as possible. Although I told myself to shut up, myself disobeyed, as it often does, and I posted:

Patriotism means more than the symbol, like the flag. It also means the Values, like “All men are created equal and are endowed by their Creator with certain inalienable rights…”

Like the right to act like dang fools… without being shot for doing so.

About Je' Czaja

Je' is a writer, artist, and stand up philosopher. She founded and directed two non-profit organizations for disadvantaged children and their families, served as a missionary for three years and is the author of several books. https://www.smashwords.com/interview/jeczaja Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00IU4RWKE

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

