history, News: Fresh BS, politics

Flag=Heritage? All Hail the Angry Rooster!

I live in the South and watch with interest the controversy about taking down the Confederate flag. We know what it means: Defiance of the USA and the white man still rules.

Now defenders of the Confederate flag say it represents their heritage, but lot of southerners say, “No, it doesn’t.” Defenders say we must not forget those who fought and died in the Civil War, but all those statues in front of the courthouse with “Lest We Forget” probably have that covered. Are you remembering Southern men who fought and died in WWI and WWII with the same zeal? Why not?

So I wanted to find the flag that represents my heritage-Poland. I have studied Polish history and God knows, they were fighters. Even their enemies said they were tough. Passionate, zealous fighters, who refused to band together and so often lost their wars; but dang it, they did so with honor.

When I found the Polish flag, which I now insist be flown over the statehouse to represent my heritage, I laughed out loud. Perfect! A totally pissed off rooster (which I think is supposed to be an eagle.) Yes, that’s Polish, all right. Don’t bother me or I’ll frigging peck you to death! Or die trying!

All Hail the Angry Rooster!

Polish Flag

Polish Flag

About Je' Czaja

Je' is a writer, artist, and stand up philosopher. She founded and directed two non-profit organizations for disadvantaged children and their families, served as a missionary for three years and is the author of several books. https://www.smashwords.com/interview/jeczaja Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00IU4RWKE

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

